tsi-logo

The mission of this program is to be a catalyst connecting the highly skilled and educated Harvard and Ivy League+ community members to small and medium-sized non-profits that are looking for these uniquely experienced and qualified alums. Examples of volunteer opportunities could include developing new programs, strategic planning, financial management, teaching, organizing/running initiatives, marketing/promotion, leading IT initiatives or anything inbetween.
 

This inaugural event was held at Communities Foundation of Texas on April 10, 2019. Information on the various non-profits that participated in the event is below.

  • Click here for the presentation shared during the event.
  • Click here for event photos.
  • Click here for videos of the presentations.

If you would like to submit a suggested program for our 2020 program, please fill out this form

If you have any questions, please contact Rebecca Posten at rebecca_posten@yahoo.com

 

Thank you to our sponsors John Willding/Barnes and Thornburg LLP and Dulany Howland/Howland Advisory Corporation.

Organization

Example Opportunities

A Steady Hand

Donald Parish - Founder & President

donald@beasteadyhand.org  214-384-1589

  • Pro bono services: Fundraising, Videography, Graphic design
  • In-kind donations, such as: Office space, Work laptops, Gift cards

Back on my Feet

Gina Parker - Executive Director

gina@backonmyfeet.org - 214-507-9881

  • Pre-event planning and day-of-event needs
  • Join morning runs on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, or Saturdays
  • Facilitate skill-based classes for program members

Center for Nonprofit Management

Tina Weinfurther - President and CEO

weinfurther@thecnm.org - 214-580-1726

Christy Livingstone - Marketing & Grants Director

livingstone@thecnm.org - 214-580-1749

  • CNM hosts the annual "A Night of Light" which is an “Academy Awards" of sorts for the greater DFW Metroplex nonprofit sector.
  • CNM needs volunteer judges to review and score the nominations for “A Night of Light.”

Children's Advocacy Center, Collin County

Jenni Clark - Donor Relations Manager

jclark@cacollincounty.org - 972-633-6628

Trish Hutcheson - Grants Manager

thutcheson@caccollincounty.org - 972-633-6608

  • Collection drives / donations
  • Become an “Advocate At Work!” or join the Guardian Angel Society
  • Join for volunteer days, and assist with facility maintenance and cleaning
  • Volunteer weekly in child care activity center
  • Always seeking professionals to join Board of Directors

Children's Advocacy Center of Dallas

Jenna Sampson    - Volunteer Coordinator

jsampson@dcac.org  - 214-818-2600

Becky Aguilar - Director of Community Engagement

baguilar@dcac.org - 214-818-2633

  • Family services volunteer – provide a safe, warm and fun environment for all children entering the building
  • Dining series – provide and/or serve dinner to clients attending evening group or individual therapy sessions
  • Crimes Against Children conference – provide assistance in workshops at the largest conference of its kind

Cristo Rey Fort Worth

Dani Ray Barton - Director of Corporate Work Study

dbarton@cristoreyfw.org - (817) 720-3023

  • GRIT Academy: professional speaker series, business bootcamp teachers
  • CWSP Committee: business development, event support, student mentoring
  • Academics: student tutoring
  • Social Media: volunteer / marketing planning

Dallas CASA

Kathleen LaVille - President and CEO

klavalle@dallascasa.org -  (214) 827-8961

Mindy Baxter - Communications Specialist

mbaxter@dallascasa.org  -  (214) 827-8961

  • Train to become a Dallas CASA volunteer advocate for a child in foster care
  • Dallas CASA Children’s Council Board to help raise funds, awareness
  • Join the Dallas CASA Young Professionals Council and be part of a network bringing attention to the needs of children in foster care
  • Join  Dallas CASA board’s Community Outreach Committee

Dare to Dream Children’s Foundation

Jan Tennyson - Founder

dtdcfnd@aol.com - 214-599-9563

  • Fundraising, marketing, volunteer coordinator
  • Strategically plan how to build the organization to the next level
  • Ultimately looking for someone to take over leadership of the organization to allow Jan to retire

Education Opens Doors

Brittany Brady - Manager of Development

Brittany@educationopensdoors.org - (301) 512-6344

  • Looking for 2-3 diverse Board members to better inform business decision making and strategy
  • Seeking individuals ready to invest time, talent, and resources in an entrepreneurial organization

Equest

Lili Kellogg - CEO  lkellogg@equest.org

Christine Volkmer - Dir. Community Engagement

cvolkmer@equest.org - 972-412-1099 x 227

  • Work in the stables, Walk with clients
  • Clean, organize, and feed animals
  • Help with events, such as 5k races, galas and corporate visits

Groundwork Dallas

Aaryaman Singhal - COO

Operations@groundworkdallas.org - 740-591-6217

  • Legal expertise
  • Help organize and run events
  • Help with marketing and PR campaigns (on an ongoing basis)
  • Help with strategic planning / business development (consulting)
  • Fundraising
  • Provide connections to the architectural/engineering community in Dallas

Hope International

Dawn Ford - Executive Director

dford@hopeadoption.org - 214-672-9399

  • Primarily looking for people interested in joining Board of Directors
  • In need of people with skills in grant writing, producing newsletters, social media engagement, event planning, risk assessment, strategic planning, advertising, and donor engagement
  • Opportunities to travel with the Executive Director to visit orphanages in Bangladesh, Ukraine, or Bulgaria, while monitoring or setting up an in-country program

Nancy Lieberman Charities

Traci Choate - Director of Programs

traci@nancyliebermancharities.org - 972-473-2121

  • Volunteer opportunity - two annual sessions of summer basketball camp (four days each; held at Fieldhouse USA in Frisco, TX)
  • Volunteer opportunity - annual celebrity charity golf tournament
  • Seeking diverse board members to help change the lives of children

Nexus Recovery Center

Becca Crowell - Executive Director

bcrowell@nexusrecovery.org - 214 321-0156

Alicia Peoples - Dir. of Development, PR

apeoples@nexusrecovery.org  - 214-321-0156

  • Board members with experience in: HR, Development, Marketing
  • Board governance
  • Strategic planning

POETIC

Jennifer Tinker - Co-Founder and Co-CEO

jennifer@iampoetic.org - 972-922-4235

  • Financial auditors;  HR; Architects to assist in planning new space
  • Consultant to assist with strategic planning, develop financial model
  • Skilled marketers, PR enthusiasts, social strategists, digital experts, graphic design gurus to support the development & execution of an upcoming marketing campaign

Rainbow Days

Sherri Ansley - CEO

sherria@rainbowdays.org - 469-867-8846

Tiffany Beaudine - Director of Development

TiffanyB@rainbowdays.org - (214) 217-3814

  • Board members with experience in: Strategic planning, Marketing, Financial management, Sales, Higher education, Medical – (physician or administrator), Insurance industry, Restaurant industry

Storehouse of Colin County

Candace Winslow - Executive Director

cwinslow@thestorehousecc.org - 214.291.8083

Jacque Devonport - Dir. Volunteer Services

jdevonport@thestorehousecc.org 214.291.8038

  • Volunteers to work in food pantry (Seven Loaves) or clothes closet (Joseph’s Coat)
  • Mentors who will serve women in Project Hope program
  • Board members who have skills and expertise in strategic planning, fundraising and measurement/evaluation of programming

Trey Athletes

Rebecca Feickert - Co-Founder and CEO

rfeickert@treyathletes.org - (347) 498-3429

Brian Reynolds- Co-Founder, Head of Strategic Partnerships and Fundraising

breynolds@treyathletes.org - 785-213-3713

  • Board positions
  • Workshop volunteers & Event Planning
  • Grant writing & Development strategy
  • Technology / data specialists
  • Mentors (if former college or pro athletes)

Urban Teachers DFW

Sherri Adams - Director of Development

sherri.adams@urbanteachers.org   214-924-1922

  • Serve on the Leadership Council as an Ambassador to the business and philanthropic community
  • Create local PR/Marketing steering committee to engage local media and further Urban Teacher awareness in the local market

VolunteerNow

Tammy Richards - Chief Executive Officer

trichards@volnow.org - 214-564-7279

Millicent Boyken - Chief Program Officer

mboykin@volnow.org - 214/826-6767

Meghan Delany- Community Engagement mdelaney@volnow.org - 214/826-6767

  • Seeking board members with experience in: Software-as-a-service, Technology development, Marketing

Zan Wesley Holmes Community Outreach Center

DeMetris Sampson - Board Chair

dasampsonlawyer@gmail.com

Frances Smith - Executive Director

frances.smith@zwhjcoc.org - 214.682.7007

  • Lunch and Learn presenters
  • Year-round marketing campaign development
  • Pro-bono legal services
  • North Texas Giving Day - marketing and social media campaign